goal setting · goals · organizing · planning · plans · schedule

Setting (and Crushing) Summer Goals

Greetings, teacher friends!
If you’re already on summer break, cheers!  I raise my wine schorle (white wine + sparkling water) to you.  If you’re still sweating (hopefully metaphorically) it out with your littles I raise my wine schorle to you!  (See what I did there?)

I’m popping in today to talk about setting summer goals.  Because we all know that teachers kick off their shoes on the last day of summer and don’t do any work until August.

Summer Break Meme_WWT
source:  @TEACHERMEMESNY

It’s really easy to feel overwhelmed with summer to-do lists; teacher brain never shuts off, and as soon as you accomplish one thing, you think of 5 more to do.  So, instead of summer to-do lists I suggest summer goal setting.  How are they different?  SO glad you asked. =)

Summer goal setting involves setting goals for each month of the summer–a moderate, achievable number–and then you work on those goals for the month, instead of spinning your wheels with a to-do list you can’t get under control. And don’t forget to mix in personal goals!  You can’t fill from an empty bucket.
I set my June goals this past weekend and ended up with 5, but probably could have been okay with 4.  You can see that of 5 goals, only 2 are professional.  Of the remaining three, one is physical health, one is mental health, and one is a family goal.

Let me hit you with 5 reasons why setting monthly summer goals beats an unending to-do list.

  1. You have a frame for your daily work.  One of my June goals is to re-establish my blogging habits by blogging 2-3 times per week.  I can achieve this by either dedicating an entire day to writing, or I can write on one or two days and schedule my posts.  I can even do one method one week and another in a different week, depending on our other commitments, appointments, etc.
  2. Setting smaller goals simplifies planning to achieve them.  My second goal is complete the 21 Day Fix Extreme.  This fitness goal fits in way better with my (current fitness) goals than the less tangible lose 5 pounds.  While that may be the goal, writing it as completion of a workout program makes it more tangible and concrete.  I know that in order to achieve this goal I need to carve out 30 minutes every day to work out.
  3. It’s easier to mix in personal and professional goals.  Rather than just sitting down and thinking of ALL THE THINGS that need to happen between now and August, I can think about what needs to happen in this month–personally and professionally.  We’re going to Rome over Labor Day, and we’ve purchased plane tickets, but we don’t have a hotel or any excursions planned yet, so researching those things is a high priority this month.  Plus, when I mix personal and professional goals I don’t feel guilty that I took 45 minutes to enjoy an afternoon latte and read on the balcony, because reading a book for pleasure is a goal this month.
  4. You can layer goals.  My first goal this month is to blog more consistently; if I achieve that goal this month I’ll start adding in creating pins for Pinterest boards.  I LOVE Pinterest, but I’m SO BAD at it.  If I don’t get to it in June it’s my July goal.  But if I can establish good blogging habits I can sneak in figuring out Canva lightly.
  5. Setting small goals lets you celebrate more often!  Celebrating success is an important part of staying motivated; if you’re constantly focusing on how far you have to go to achieve your goals you become defeated and productivity becomes more difficult.  Conversely, if you’re setting smaller goals and giving yourself a metaphorical (or even literal) pat on the back on a consistent basis you’re more likely to stick with it and achieve even more in the long run.

What are your June goals?  I’d love to know!  =)
May your coffee be strong, and your goal setting swift.

Cheers!  Rachel

Leave a Reply

