back to school · classroom management · math

My BtS Confession

Okay, teachers.  Back to school is in full swing.  If you haven’t already started, your break is probably waning.  When you open social media, you’re bombarded with pictures of adorable, Pinterest worthy classroom pictures where everything is labeled, color coded, topped with a pom-pom, and sometimes (literally) tied up neatly with a bow.  But what if that’s not you??

Secret confession:  it’s not me either.  I had a classroom for 7 years, and I never once had an elaborate or ornate theme.  Well, I never had any theme at all.  And here’s why:  because that’s not what I like to do and it’s not where my strengths lie.  Creating gigantic bulletin board displays just gives me heart palpitations.  Trying to figure out all the ways that we can tie in pirates or animals or sports just feels like an unnecessary level of stress. Now don’t get me wrong–I LOVE to see pictures of teachers’ classrooms who CAN swing it, but I totally can’t.

So, what did I do?  Good question.  Generally, I just decorated and organized my classroom using one overarching color scheme.  Like bright colors, or stripes.  Something like that.  And it feels manageable and maintainable and I can focus on other things–planning, assessing, connecting with families at the start of the school year.

You don’t need a super cutesy classroom to be a great teacher.  You should decorate your classroom in whatever way feels most authentic to you.  Because at the end of the day you are the most important aspect of your students’ classroom.  And a happy teacher is the best teacher.  And let’s face it–there’s enough that stresses out teachers; don’t let it be your classroom decor.  =)

Enjoy back to school season!  xoxo, Rachel

One thought on “My BtS Confession

Leave a Reply

