classroom management · first 6 weeks · first week · K-2 · kindergarten · organizing · student numbers

The Coveted Classlist

Hi, teachers!

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer break!  Back to school sales are in full swing, and it’s so humid that you could cut the air here.  Anyone else have crazy humidity?!  It’s not even really worth it to do my hair in the summer time.  But I digress.

Today, I wanted to share a quick back to school organization idea.  In the school where I previously taught, our class lists were generally not finalized until the morning school started.  And even then we usually had a fair amount of shifting during the first week or two.  This is REALLY hard to accommodate when you’re a little bit type A, like me.  I really didn’t want to constantly be crossing names out on materials, and my first year I didn’t really have a great strategy to combat this.  But my second year I wised up, and I started numbering my students’ materials.

Numbering materials is a LIFESAVER!  Let me tell you why.

  • You can reuse materials when students come and go.  If student 13 leaves, the next student who enters your class can use those materials.  Over time you save money because you don’t have to chuck pencils/folders/notebooks every time a student leaves.
  • It makes lining up a breeze!  It takes a bit of time, especially in lower grades, for students to remember their numbers, but once they do it makes lining up so easy!  And no one fusses because they all have a spot in line.  (We still have a line leader; they just go in front of #1.)
  • You can hang up data charts without adding students’ names.  Yes, they sometimes know each other’s numbers, but visitors won’t know who they are and it’s highly unlikely that a student will know every single other students’ numbers.

Numbering materials is so quick and easy, and lets you get your classroom ready before you have a class list.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!  xoxo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

