Uncategorized

My First Five for Friday in My New (blogging) Home

Hi, friends!

Surprise, surprise–I’m on the naptime hustle again.  It’s like a double time hustle, because I’ve probably got about 20 minutes of naptime left.  And then I have to get my rear into gear to feed and dress the babies, walk the dog, and get myself and the babies down to VA for an early holiday lunch with the hubs and a co-worker.  So let’s not waste any time.

713a4-divider1

If you’re reading this, you clearly realize that I finally made the move from Blogger to Word Press.  It’s something that I’ve been thinking about for a while, but wasn’t sure if I could do it myself.  Turns out I just had to pay someone else $5 to do it for me.  There are still some things I’m figuring out, like how to connect to Bloglovin’, and how to get social media buttons on the blog.  But overall I’m super happy that I made the switch, and if you’re thinking about it I’d encourage you to do it as well.

02042-divider2

Tomorrow is the day!  It’s going to be such a ridiculously crazy day, but tomorrow is the wreath laying at Arlington!  My favorite Christmas tradition, and I’m so glad that babes will be able to do it with us.  There has been years where we’ve worn two pairs of pants, long underwear, sweatshirts, hats, gloves, coats, and boots, and tomorrow it’s going to be almost SEVENTY degrees!  What?!  Do I live in Florida?!  I always think it looks extra dramatic when there’s snow on the ground for the wreath laying, but baby wise I’m a little thankful it will be warm tomorrow.  Here’s a quick picture from the wreath laying last year.  20141213_102119.jpg

f5791-divider3

Earlier this week I added a freebie section to the blog, so if you haven’t checked it out yet head back to the top and click on the freebies tab.  It’s a mish mash of tools to help you stay organized, some work stations, and planning templates.  I’ll add it to somewhat often, so keep checking back.  Hopefully the things there are useful to you.

e9d24-divider4

I decided that I wanted to take on making a Christmas craft for the grandparents from the boys each year.  Any ideas on what to do for their first Christmas?  It needs to be relatively easy, since they’re so young.  I saw this really cool Christmas tree made out of hand prints, but I feel like that’s a better project for a year or two from now when they have better control over their phalanges.  I see that ending horribly.

2eaf0-divider5

Earlier this week I wrapped up my series on small group instruction.  I blogged about how I plan for both reading (here) and math (here), and I’ll be back somewhat soonish to talk about how I cram everything into my math block.  Because math always gets like half the time of literacy.

Okay, y’all.  Seriously.  I wrapped that up with literally one minute to spare.  Have an awesome weekend!  You certainly deserved it, and you have 5 or less days until winter break.  You can do it! Enjoy the weekend.     xoxo, Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

